Tags

, , , , , , ,

This great quote from Chris Hemsworth on ComicBookMovie.com (August 2013) gives some good insight into how he sees Thor’s and Loki’s relationship, and what he doesn’t want to see happen:

I can’t say too much, but I think in the comic books you kind of roll your eyes sometimes at the amount of times they’re back to being best friends. And so we wanted to keep in mind, Loki did just try to kill you for the seventh time – and Earth. It’s a big war, and what have you… Maybe there’s something we can maybe, [CHUCKLE] … We have a common need or something which, you know, that would, well… [laughs] You know the scene in Avengers when Thor says ‘careful how you speak. He be crazy but it’s my brother,’ kind of sums it up. Yeah, he’s a screw up but he is my brother. I don’t think they’re back to being best friends, but Thor’s at a loss about how they got to this point, ’cause for him, I think [treachery] stuff came out of nowhere and I think that in this film [Thor] certainly can acknowledge now with a maturity that he should have been more aware of Loki over the years and where he was positioned and all of this, and why maybe that led him down a certain path. I think there’s maybe an empathetic view for Loki that no one else can have because they’re not bound by blood, you know.

I have to stand up here for Loki and say, “Thor, he hasn’t tried to kill you seven times. Only, eh, maybe two. You can’t count that puny little knife incident; he knew that wouldn’t kill you.” But, yeah, I hear him on that issue. It’s a problem with long-term serialized entertainment like that, the old “re-set” button. Because if Thor really turned his back on Loki and they really declared all-out war on each other, well, one would get killed or disappear, and we’d never see them again, and we’ve never get that drama of betrayal again. Plus people in general seem to just come back to life a lot in comics and the fantasy-esque genre in general — re-set! BUT, I think many (most?) fans would like to see Thor trust Loki again and Loki not let him down, we’ve seen Loki betray him, but we haven’t seen them in the heyday of friendship and adventure together.

Also another shorthand for what he says in the beginning is “Don’t make Thor stupid.” Which makes me really laugh, because when I saw The Avengers with my Scandinavian Lit PhD friend, one of the scenes she remarked on was when Loki tricks Thor and traps him in that clear container, because she has read a lot of those myths in the original, and she said Thor was usually painted as kind of dumb in them, always falling for stuff. I was a little offended for my dear Thor!  😉

Oh! I keep thinking of more to say, ha. I find the way Hemsworth and Hiddleston quote their past lines to be really insightful into the way they approach acting (from what I can tell). Hiddleston, you may have noted, quotes his past lines verbatim. It’s fairly stunning, actually, and I think it must reflect the precision with which he approaches the whole thing. Hemsworth, assuming the above is accurate, I just copied/pasted, freewheels it, that’s absolutely the intent/feeling of what Thor said, but not the exact quote. And it reminds me of what Ken Branagh has said about how Hemsworth got the job in the end, that he was asked to tell a story off the top of his head in character about an adventure he went on with his friends, and he just launched right into one and nailed it. (Wouldn’t you love to be able to see that?) It’s always really impressed me. (Though a friend of mine tells me “this is just what actors do, they’re trained to do that. Still impresses me.) Anyway it just struck me as in line with this more freewheeling approach. I will stop before I obsess myself into a corner.

And these poor actors when they give these early interviews, you can tell they’re struggling the whole time, “what am I allowed to say, what am I allowed to say?” It’s a shame, really. I recall one interview with Hiddleston when he says that when the real interviews start happening around release time, you’ve made the movie so long ago it gets hard to remember all of those things from being in the middle of it, the nitty-gritty of making it.

And I must add that what he said about this stuff with Loki coming out of the blue for Thor, then coming to realize he played some part in what happened, well that just makes me giddily happy because that’s exactly the Thor I write in my main fanfic.

