Tags

, , , , ,

This article in Static has a great interview with Natalie Portman which is mostly about Thor 2. Here are the parts I thought were most enjoyable, but it’s a pretty long interview, click the link to check out the whole thing. (This post is tagged for all topics covered in the interview, not just what I pulled out here.)

Slaps:

When Jane slapped Loki, was it a real slap? If so, how far did Tom Hiddleston want you to slap him?

It was actually a punch. We did a few that were fake, but they could tell because I am just bad at that. (laughs) So there were a few real ones because they were like, ‘you are just a little girl, you really can’t hurt him’. So I don’t know, he acted like he could handle it, but I think I actually hurt him.

Physics:

Did you do any training boot camp like Loki and Thor?

No. I watched a lot of physics videos and tried to understand what my lines meant. (laughs) That was my preparation. But I don’t really have any action in it.

Silk:

What about the costumes?

It was amazing, they are so beautiful. You have to walk very differently, but they were actually really comfortable. It’s one of the joys of being in these movies, that there’s just such a high level of craftsmanship. The silk is printed like specifically for the film, these Asgardian symbols and the jewelry and the armor is made by a metal worker in the studio and it’s just like a level of craftsmanship of old movie making that we don’t get to see much anymore. So it’s pretty amazing.

Next up: Hiddleston on the slap…and sparks!